Property Manager CE Requirements

Property Manager CE Requirements

In addition to the continuing education requirements for Qualifying Brokers and Associate Brokers, Brokers who intend to offer property management must meet these property manager CE requirements:

  • Complete the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act New Mexico Real Estate Commission Logocourse (6CE), or a commission approved equivalent property management related course, prior to offering property management services, and once during each three year cycle.
  • Associate Brokers shall complete an additional 6 hours (for a total of 12) of approved continuing education courses in property management approved courses during each 3-year licensing cycle.
  • Qualifying brokers shall complete an additional 12 hours (for a total of 18) of approved continuing education courses in property management approved courses during each 3-year licensing cycle.
  • All Brokers who offer property management services are required to attend one commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing for at least 3 hours, or until the commission goes into executive session or the hearing/meeting ends, whichever comes first.

Like all licensees, Property Managers are required to complete a minimum of 36 hours of continuing education. The challenge to brokers who do property management (for others) is to meet the 36 hour requirement without having to complete too many extra hours. Luckily, there are more property management courses available than ever, some of which are designated as Core Electives.

To help you navigate the requirements, the New Mexico Real Estate Commission has provided continuing education tracking sheets. View the QB Tracking Sheet for Property Managers or the AB Tracking Sheet for Property Managers.

Upcoming property management classes